RSS

Creativity Hill

05 Jan

Tuesday night I ran hills. Again, not my favorite. My legs were extremely sore. Yoga Friday, for the first time in nearly three weeks. 11 mile run Saturday. Couch potato to the max Sunday, which allowed my legs to tighten up just perfectly. And an intense yoga class Monday made for a set of immensely sore legs Tuesday. They ached a LOT. And then, I had those damn hills to run.  But, it was warm, it wasn’t raining, and my interval runs are shorter than any regular run, which meant it would be over quickly. I could take it easy…as much as one can take it easy when running a 1/4 mile hill, back and forth, four times.

I decided to run the hill I used to run. I don’t venture to that old neighborhood very often, but that hill is great. Not only is it a good training hill, but it has a tendency to spark some intense creativity inside me. Last time I ran that hill, I came up with an excellent idea for a project (that has yet to be completed, but is a really good work in progress, nonetheless). I have maintained that creative streak since, although it ebbs and flows, and I was hoping to fill up the tank with another hill run. It didn’t fail me.

Running that hill Tuesday night was a success. Not only did it loosen up my tight legs, but I also came up with some new ideas. I couldn’t stop thinking! When I am feeling creative, I don’t mind thought overload, and I felt euphoric after my run, much like the way I felt last time I ran that same hill.

In three weeks, I run hills again, but this time I will be excited! I will head back to Creativity Hill and become an expert at running hills, but more importantly, fill up my creative tank, which is what really makes me happy. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 5, 2012 in Happiness, Running, Training, Yoga

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment