RSS

There’s no high like a runner’s high

22 Dec

Hello. I have been fighting a sickness something fierce this week, but, I have managed to get all my training runs in. Sunday…Christmas Day…a 10 mile run, and that will finish week 4. Already. Wow.

Since I have been feeling off this week, I have not wanted to, nor felt like, running fast or pushing myself, so when I saw this today, it made me smile:

I run for myself and because it makes me feel good. When I am in the funkiest of funks, and all I feel like doing is hiding from the world, curling up on the couch, and feeling sorry for myself, I KNOW a run will save me. Before I can talk myself out of it, I remember all the times I have felt horrible, and how much better a run made me feel. It works every time…it’s my antidepressant. Fresh air + running body + a good sweat = runner’s high. And after that run, all I want to do is rest my tired limbs on the couch and relish my runner’s high. Now, if I could just get myself to yoga more…

Happy Holidays and Happy Winter. We are officially on the upswing to summer. The days get longer starting today!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 22, 2011 in Happiness, Running, Uncategorized, Yoga

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
