RSS

Day seven in Costa Rica

08 Dec

Woke up from the best night of sleep I’ve had in a LONG time. We fell asleep early (crashed) and slept in. When we woke up, everyone was already leaving for breakfast. We decided to have an US day and not rush. It was nice.

We got dressed and went for a run. I had 5 miles. We were at 1400 meters, and it was VERY hilly. I didn’t make 5 miles. After running UP, then DOWN, then UP, UP, UP, then DOWN…I decided to turn around when the DOWN continued DOWN, DOWN, DOWN…that would be UP, UP, UP on the way back, and I was already struggling. So, I decided 4 or 4.5 miles at elevation and extreme hills would be more than a normal 5 mile run. Not only was it hilly, but the roads weren’t paved. I was not only training for a half marathon, but for the next Warrior Dash! The scenery was beautiful, and the cooler, less humid air was a relief.

We got back from our run, showered, then headed into town to find some food. The rest of the group had gone on an Extremo Canopy Tour (zip lines, superman zip lines, and Tarzan swing), which all sounded very fun, but we opted for a day to ourselves. By the time we got out the door, I was STARVING, and open to eating just about anywhere. After snapping some scenic shots on the way,

, we found our food spot:

, The Common Cup, which, of course, had AMAZING coffee (we’re in Costa Rica!), and delicious food, too. As we were ordering we spotted a monkey in the tree outside. One of the ladies who worked there peeled a banana, and the little guy came scurrying:

As we were leaving, I noticed a flyer on the wall: 90 minute massage, $50. I was DYING for a massage. Everything on my body hurt. I was in my last week of training, and I had been using my body in other ways the entire time we were in Costa Rica, too. I desperately needed a massage.

We walked further in town, and passed the place that had the $50 massage. We stopped in, made an appointment for later, and went and booked a fun day ziplining. We opted to do the sky tram/zip line tour. http://www.monteverdeinfo.com/canopy/tour.htm

It was a lot of fun! After the sky tram up, up, up and into the cloud forest, we ziplined down nine ziplines (some of them we did tandem and went REALLY, REALLY fast!) It was so cool being up that high above the jungle. It was pretty windy and cool, but we still had a great time.

After we were done, we got back into town and ate at a Peruvian restaurant, then I went for my massage. Ahhhhhh…it was amazing! The masssage therapist, Karen Gordon (amara.bodywork@gmail.com), was AMAZING! She was exactly what I needed. She is a distance runner, does yoga, and also does Reiki. She is very passionate about what she does, and has a great story of meeting her husband (who is Costa Rican) and moving to Costa Rica, quitting her stressful job, becoming a massage therapist, buying a farm, and having a baby. I was/am in awe. šŸ™‚

After my massage, it was dark, and I was a little apprehensive about getting back to the hotel. Karen offered to take me back since it was on her way, which was awesome! She dropped me off, S was waiting for me, and we went off the meet the group for dinner: The rest of the group had an amazing time on their Extremo Canopy Tour. Everyone was exhausted. Back to the cabin for another early bedtime before we got up early to go to our next (and my last) destination: La Fortuna.

 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
