RSS

Coolest Birthday weekend…ever

06 Sep

And…I am officially another year older. And, it was probably the coolest birthday ever.

S and I went to Boise for my birthday weekend, which also was Labor Day weekend, which also was the start of college football. S went to Boise state, played football for Boise State,ย and still had a lot of friends in Boise, so we decided to spend the weekend there. It was amazing in every way. It’s crazy to think S and I have only been dating for 5 weeks! It feels like we’ve known each other forever!

We left Seattle EARLY Friday morning, and landed to cloudless skies in Boise before 10AM (1 hour later there). Cab to our hotel in DT Boise where we freshened up. We then walked a few blocks to meet one of his best guy friends for lunch. That started our pre-birthday pub crawl. We walked to another place to meet a couple more of his friends, and then we went to campus and S showed me the infamous blue field. We walked on it, took some pictures, and then he showed me around campus. We wandered around a bit more, went to a couple more bars/restaurants, met some more of his friends, and then went back to the hotel to get ready for the surprise evening. I was told, “Wear your bikini.” I asked, “What else do I need?” “Your headlamp.” “Anything else?” “Nope.” (He packed everything else). We drove for about 45 minutes, and then got “there.” It was dark. We hiked up a bit, and then…Hot Springs!! I had NEVER been to hot springs, and S knew this. It was so awesome. The temperature of the pool was perfect, and we played in there for a while, stared up at the star-filled sky…it was absolutely beautiful! My head almost got smacked by a couple of bats, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

Saturday morning…my birthday, we woke up very early to go climbing!! I wasn’t a fan of waking up early, but when climbing is involved, I am 100% down. We drove a short distance to Black Cliffs and did a couple of climbs before it got too hot. We went with S’s friend who leads, and at one point, he said, “Want to do your first lead for your birthday?” At first I said no, but when he said, “It’s your birthday,” I agreed, and I am so glad I did. I did a 5.7, and it was really, really fun! There was one spot where I was a little freaked out, but I did it, and I finished, and I survived!! SO excited to do it again!

After climbing for a couple of hours, we went to lunch, and then off to the next fun activity: frisbee (disc) golf. It was so much fun!! It’s played on a mini golf course with a frisbee. The “hole” is a metal bucket. Par is 3 on all the holes. At first, I was horrible. I seriously do not know how to throw a frisbee. But, by the end, I was beating the guys. ๐Ÿ™‚ After frisbee golf, we were dropped off at another friend’s house where we would stay the night. There was a block party going on for the Boise State game, and I met a ton more of S’s friends. It was hard to keep everyone’s names straight!! Boise won, and everyone was happy. Toward the end of the game, S came walking out with a cupcake and a lit candle in it and everyone sang Happy Birthday. It was so great. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunday…we slept in!! Our original plan was to get up early, drive into the mountains, hike and camp, but we were exhausted, so we decided against that plan. Instead, we slept in, went out for brunch, and then floated the Boise River. So much fun. There are actual mini-waterfalls to go over, so it’s much different from floating in Washington. After we floated the river, we showered, went out for dinner, went and played pool, and made it a semi-early night…we were pretty tired.

Monday…slept in again. ๐Ÿ™‚ Went into DT Boise for brunch, and then went mountain biking. Ooh, boy, that was hard. It was about 90 degrees out and I had NEVER been. When we got to a steep incline, which seemed to go on forever, the boys were coaching me on what to do, and right before we went, S said, “And, I know how competitive you are, so I am just going to tell you…NO ONE has EVER made it all the way up without stopping their first time.” And that was all I needed to do everything I could to make it up without stopping. And…I did. I only shifted gears once, and I didn’t stop at all. I felt like I was going to die, but there was no way in hell I was going to stop. Probably one of the hardest things I had ever done. And, going down hill was not much easier. I was completely out of control and thought for sure, more than once, I was going to fly over my handle bars. I rode in ruts, over drop offs, on sand, but not ONCE did I fall!!! I made it the entire way!! YAY!

After mountain biking we went out for celebratory beers and some lunch in this super cool open air bar: Parilla. We went there on Friday, too. I think all the bars in the South Bay should follow suit, and even Seattle should have some.

Then, we went back to shower quickly before going to the airport. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It was truly an amazing weekend. It was a perfect blend of awesome fun activities, exercise, football, outside time, good food, drinks, cool people, and a little bit of downtime. S was amazing in every way, and he made this weekend super special. I am all smiles thinking about it…and him. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now, back to reality, and back to training!! Today I start my 12 week training program for the Seattle Half marathon Thanksgiving weekend. I am excited to get back on a schedule and be more disciplined. This past weekend, and summer have been incredible, and I did everything I wanted to do, now it’s time to get my focus back and achieve some more goals! Top 10 in my age group for the Seattle half…BRING IT!!

 

Leave a Reply

 
