RSS

1:39.00

27 Jun

Happy, good things have been happening since I last wrote. 🙂

After my back to back 5 mile runs, I ran 8 miles, and it went great! Yes, it was hard, and yes, I felt out of shape (altitude, heat, hills), but MY FEET DIDN’T HURT!!! I was so, so, so happy to not have sore feet after that run. And, my feet really haven’t hurt since! It seems as if Idaho cured my feet. YAAAAAY!

Thursday, I took a day off from running, and went for a nice, easy 2 hour trail ride on Hot Rod. He was a great horse! My feet didn’t hurt on the ride either!

I left Sandpoint on a late train Thursday night. The train was, thankfully, right on time. I didn’t get the best sleep, but I did get a little bit. I probably got 3-4 hours of interrupted sleep. We arrived in Seattle at 10AM, and I took all of my stuff (bag, backpack, foam roller, pillow) to the Expo to pick up my race packet. I was in and out of there in 10 minutes: I was tired, I had a lot of crap, and I had just been to an expo three weeks prior. After the expo, I had a busy day running errands, doing laundry, etc. before I met my friend at the Spaghetti Factory for our carbo load dinner! I was SO tired by this point. We feasted, and then I went home to crash (for 7 hours) before my alarm went off at 4:15…ouch.

I had my standard pre-race meal: oatmeal with banana, coffee and water, and then met my friend and we headed to the start. It was a zoo, just like last year, but we had plenty of time to pee, drop off our clothes, and get to our respective corrals. I was in corral 2 this year. I learned to put a faster time to get me closer to the front. I put down 1:35.00, which is really, really fast, and I don’t think I am quite there, yet, especially since I just ran 26.2 miles less than 3 weeks ago! I found the 1:35.00 pace runner, and asked him his pace: 7:15…uh, I don’t think so. So, I decided to be my own pace runner. I really had no idea how I was going to do: I had recently had a HUGE race, I had been having serious foot problems, I hadn’t run much since the marathon, and I hadn’t run more than 8 miles in the past 3 weeks. Oh, and I was really, really tired, and my right hip flexor was sore. Ya, I was not in tip-top shape.

So, off we went. I started off WAY too fast, and a few miles in I realized I couldn’t slow down. Well, I could, but being the uber-competitive person I am, I REALLY wanted to beat my last year’s time (1:39.49), which was going to be tough. I was REALLY fast last year. So, if I wanted to beat last year’s time, I needed to keep up my 7.30 pace. Ouch.

And ouch was right. I hurt the entire race. I never really felt good and strong. My IT band started mildly hurting about 4 miles in, and I just felt sluggish. I kept talking to my body…my IT band…my legs, “Half way there…5 more miles…3 more miles…and then I will rest you, I PROMISE! Just don’t give up now!” At mile 12, I turned my head to the left to blow my nose (by covering one nostril with a finger and blowing), and blew it right on a guy’s leg who was passing me. OOps! I apologized, and he smiled and waved. That was the highlight of my race! Last year, I passed everyone toward the finish, this year, I was being passed, BUT…I did it! I beat my last year’s time! My fastest half marathon time: 1:39.00. How I did it? I really have no idea. Here are my stats:

Mile 1: 7.29.33

Mile 2: 7.35.51

Mile 3: 7:42.92

Mile 4: 7:41.56

Mile 5: 7.55.92

Mile 6: 7.11.21

Mile 7: 7.25.91

Mile 8: 7.39.29

Mile 9: 7.45.42

Mile 10: 7.39.99

Mile 11: 7.30.94

Mile 12: 6.52.37

Mile 13: 7.45.45

Mile .2:  46.49

7:34 minute/mile pace

Pretty consistent for not having a pace runner. 🙂

Overall: 595 out of 17083 · Division: 20 out of 1953 · Gender: 119 out of 11458

So, two huge goals met the last two races: Qualified for Boston in my first marathon, and I got a PR in the half marathon less than three weeks later. I am amazed. It feels awesome! Now, it’s time to rest, relax, and enjoy my summer! My body is pretty happy about this. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 27, 2011 in Happiness, Running, Sports, Travel

 

Leave a Reply

 
