RSS

Tapering

23 May

The aftermath of the hellish 20 mile last Sunday wasn’t as bad as it should have been. Yoga Monday night helped immensely, for sure, and my run on Tuesday wasn’t too bad. Yes, I felt soreness in my quads, Achilles, and foot, but it wasn’t debilitating. It was just…there.

My sleeping seems to be back on track, which is awesome! However, I felt so run down all week. I felt like I was trying really, really hard to fight off being sick. After my run Tuesday, all my runs were a struggle and I had a horrible stomach ache. 😦 This was NO time to get sick! I have been training since January, and working my bootie off, I couldn’t get sick now! NOOOOOOO!

My run Thursday night was the worst. It was an 8 mile run, and although it was beautiful and 70 when I ran, I felt so weak. I thought for sure I was sick. I felt better once I hydrated and got home, and when I woke up at 5AM Friday for yoga? I felt fine. Tired, but not sick. PHEW!!!! I got more and more exhausted as the day went on, and was SO glad it was the weekend so I could catch up on sleep. The past nearly five months of training hard were definitely catching up to me. Sleeeeeeeeeeeep.

I had a great 4 mile run Saturday! I woke up smiling and happy and felt strong and healthy for my run! I also had a light 60 minute massage after. I was hoping to have a massage AFTER my long run Sunday, but the scheduling didn’t work out.

12 mile run Sunday. It went pretty well. Actually, it went really well! No pain and nothing major to complain about. 🙂

My Achilles/foot hurts quite a bit right now. I have giant knots in the bottom of my foot. I could use a 60 minute massage just on my feet!! 🙂

I leave for Cali on Saturday, and I am so, so, so excited for a vacation. I go down a week before the race to relax, and also to get acclimated to the warmer weather. I do have one more 12 mile run before the race.

Wow, less than 2 weeks to go until I run 26.2 miles. I can’t believe it! I am actually going to do this! It makes me happy thinking about it. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 23, 2011 in Happiness, Outdoor fun, Running, Travel, Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
