RSS

Pamper me

28 Mar

For the past 10 days, I have been house/dog sitting. Right before I took on this responsibility, I was at the peak of my not sleeping/exhaustion saga. I worried sleeping in a strange bed would aggravate it. I also thought, however, that maybe my body would feel like it was on vacation, so it would learn to sleep better. Well, I believe my body thought the latter because I have slept better and better every night. Tonight, I go back to sleeping in my own bed, and I hope I have retrained my body how to sleep again. Cross fingers!!

My weekend was incredible. I need weekends like this past weekend more often. I took care of myself all…weekend…long.

Friday night, yoga. It was a really, really nice day, so class was on the smaller side. I prefer a smaller class…not quite as hot.

Saturday: walk with dog, chiropractor (living social deal, AND he happens to take my insurance!! I will be going to see him regularly), 6 mile run, lash appointment, 90 minute massage (my friend does massage and she gave me a great rate. The massage was awesome, and we got to catch up while she massaged, so it was a perfect 90 minutes, actually).

Sunday: 9 mile run, red light therapy (I will discuss this more), mani/pedi

So, red light therapy. I heard about it for the first time last week at girls night. My friend, Kara, told me about it. She goes to a tanning salon for it. It is supposed to promote collagen production, resulting in a decrease in fine lines and wrinkles. On top of that, it is supposed to help with depression, help relieve pain, help get rid of acne, scars, and the list goes on, and on. Then one of my other friend’s piped in that she gets it, too! Funny…I went to an event a couple of months ago and in our goody bag, among other things, was a coupon for one month of tanning. I was like, um…I don’t really want to go tanning anymore in my old age. 😉 BUT, I will try this red light therapy! So, yesterday, before my mani/pedi, I went to the tanning salon to cash in my one month of “tanning.” It was very relaxing. I am going to try to go every day. 🙂

Here’s some good info on red light therapy: www.mauibeachtanningsalon.com/red_light_therapy

I have another chiropractic adjustment this week, and my first acupuncture appointment Friday.

Also, I got my lab results back from the naturopath. The first series of results were all normal, but the second series showed some “minor tweaking” needed:

My thyroid needs some support. My cortisol (stress hormone) levels are high. (I actually laughed out loud when I read this…and I couldn’t stop laughing!! Kind of like when I went in for my appointment and she looked in my eyes, and said, “Your adrenals need some support. You’re tired.” Gee, thanks for telling me, I.had.no.idea.) My vitamin D levels are on the low end of normal (BUT, they’re normal!). My adrenal glands need some support. My red blood cells are low, which indicates a B12/Folic Acid deficiency.

So, I am going in Thursday for a follow-up, and “treatment options.” Hmmm….

So, it seems like I am spending a lot of money on myself, but I really am not. Most of this is covered by insurance, and although I have to pay a $30 copay for each visit, it all evens out. I have gotten rid of other things in my life (alcohol, Nicorette gum), to make room for these more important things (acupuncture, chiropractor, massage).

I start week 11 of training this week. 16 mile run Sunday. Wow.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 28, 2011 in Happiness, Running, Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
