RSS

Skiing!

14 Mar

(I wrote this on 2/28, and forgot to publish it! OOPS!)

The peppers turned out AMAZING! And, there were lots of leftovers. Yummy!

So, I seem to be back on track, training wise, except I skipped a 5 mile run yesterday…to go skiing! It was totally worth it. I figured since it was only a 5 miler, I could forego it for a day up skiing in fresh powder. I am very happy with my decision. I went to Alpental, and not only had they gotten 4 new feet since Tuesday, it dumped all day long, too. The visibility sucked, but we were skiing on fresh, soft, fluffy snow. It was quite a treat. We skied hard, and I am sure I expended quite a bit more energy than I would have with a 5 mile run.

Saturday night, I made dinner for a small group of friends. It was a wonderful evening. This is what I made:

Salmon Lasagna

Ingredients

2 tablespoons vegetable oil (I used butter instead)
1/4 cup flour
3 cups milk
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
18 ounces frozen creamed spinach thawed (I used chopped spinach instead)
4 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
15 ounce container ricotta cheese (I used cottage cheese instead)
8 ounce package no boil lasagna noodles
15 ounce can salmon drained and flaked
(I added one zucchini)
Directions

In saucepan heat vegetable oil over medium heat until hot then stir in flour and cook 1 minute.
Gradually stir milk into flour mixture stirring constantly until mixture boils and thickens.
Stir in parmesan and pepper then set white sauce aside.
In medium bowl mix creamed spinach with mozzarella and ricotta.
Preheat oven to 375.
Spread 1/4 cup white sauce to cover bottom of rectangular baking dish.
Arrange 1/3 of the lasagna noodles over sauce overlapping to fit.
Spoon half of the ricotta mixture over noodles then top with half the salmon.
Repeat layering once then top with remaining lasagna noodles and remaining sauce.
Cover baking dish with foil and bake lasagna 40 minutes.
Remove foil and bake 15 minutes longer.

It was delicious! And, again, lots and lots of leftovers. 🙂

I start week 7 of training tomorrow. Tomorrow is the first day of March (YAAAAAAAY!!!)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 14, 2011 in Food/Restaurants, Outdoor fun, Running, Skiing

 

Leave a Reply

 
