RSS

Daaaaaasssssssshhhhhh!!!

14 Mar

I am training for a marathon. LONG distance. I know I’ve said this before, but I am NOT a sprinter. I dread my interval sprint training, and although I can run my mile sprints pretty fast, I despise them.

Yesterday was the St. Patty’s Day Dash. I signed up a while ago, and made plans to run with a few friends. I have been battling a cold the past couple days, and have been feeling really, really, really run down. I had a 7 mile run Saturday, and it was a struggle. I feel like for the past month,  my runs have been a struggle. I think the past year has finally caught up with me and it is barrelling down hard. Ugh.

Anyway, since I was looking forward to the run, and I had to deal with DST (along with everyone else, of course), I opted for a mellow night (the norm in my life anyway), and went to bed early, while it seems the rest of the world was celebrating St. Patty’s Day.

So, up bright and early yesterday morning…to rain. Poop. Oh well, I made a commitment, and this race was basically a sprint for me. Piece of cake. Well, there were some people who no-showed, which didn’t surprise me (late night celebrating+rain does not equal excitement to run early), but the person who showed up was the person I REALLY wanted to run with anyway…my pace runner…a professional (or damn near) runner. I needed someone to push me!

Ooooooh, boy, I was pushed. I am used to starting S-L-O-W and finishing strong, but that was not the case yesterday. We started fast! Our first mile was 6:45, and I could tell right away I was not 100%. It was a struggle to stay up with my friend, but I managed to stay not too far behind, and maintained a pretty fast pace the whole way…until the end. I lost steam at the end, and instead of my usual people-passing at the end, I was getting passed left and right…men and women. 😦

I finished the race at 26:46. I think it was 3.7 miles? I was too beat to really do the math. I actually felt like I was going to barf.

Instead of partaking in the post-race debauchery, we decided to go home, shower and go to a mellow brunch. MUCH more my style. 🙂

As I was getting ready for breakfast, I went online to check out the results of the race, AND….I placed 2nd in my division! Completely unexpected! I am absolutely shocked. Even if I was 100%, I don’t think I could have knocked out the 1st place girl, but maybe next year???

So, here are my stats:

7:03 minute mile

319/7149 overall

2/530 division

52/4056 women

It felt good to run a race that was over quickly, and to know that even though I am not a sprinter, I can still kick butt! It’s my competitive nature. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 14, 2011 in Running

 

Leave a Reply

 
