RSS

Huge improvements

04 Jan

So, it’s been nearly a year since I started practicing Bikram Yoga. The progression has been amazing. I am doing things now that I never imagined I could do. What I like best about Bikram is that it is the same postures, in the same order, each time. This way I can really see my improvement.

Class last night was HOT. It seems the colder it is outside, the hotter and more humid it is in class.

The most notable improvements recently are:

Standing Head to Knee Pose  I am able to kick out my left leg, on both sets, and can even bend my elbows so my chest is nearly on my leg. I can kick my right leg out briefly, but not for the entire time. It’s a huge improvement!

Standing Bow Pulling Pose  I can kick my leg back and up pretty high while keeping my arm stretched out in front (it used to hurt). I can usually hold the posture the entire time, both sets, both sides.

Standing Separate Leg Stretching I NEVER thought I would be able to do this, but I touched my forehead on the floor in between my legs! YAY! I have to move my feet out pretty wide, but I did it! 🙂

Triangle Pose  This pose used to be my nemesis. I am far from mastering it, but it is not nearly as painful, and I can usually do both sets no problem. I don’t dread it like I used to. 🙂

Standing Separate Leg Head to Knee Pose I can keep my hands together in prayer position, on both sides, the entire time…usually. My leg is far from being completely straight, but it is definitely less bent than it used to be.

Toe Stand Pose  My left ankle is still pretty weak, so I am only able to bring one hand up, but when I am on my right foot, I can balance with both hands up, and I can even lift my hips off my heel!

Bow Pose  I am getting good. My thighs are getting higher and higher off the floor.

Head to Knee with Stretching Pose  I can straighten my leg, on each side, while putting my forehead on my knee. My elbows are inching closer to the floor. When I have both legs in front of me, I can straighten my legs out, while pulling my toes back, and I can bend my elbows down…my stomach is close to being on my thighs.

My improvement is huge! It is awesome. Although I have improved on nearly all the postures, my hips remain REALLY tight. I am going to have to look into regular chiropractic/massage appointments, especially with my marathon training coming up. When my hips are tight, my lower back hurts really bad, too.

Pre-training for the marathon begins today. Then, my 20 week training program begins in 2 weeks. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 4, 2011 in Happiness, Running, Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
