RSS

Arcticblastblizzardwindchillsnowstorm 2010

24 Nov

I thought I was being smart leaving work last night at 5 instead of at 5:30 so I coulmake yoga at 6:30. I got on 99. Smooth sailing. Hardly a car on the road. I thought, at this rate, I may even have time to walk the puppy before class. And then… disaster. Up ahead, traffic was being directed to exit. The Battery Street Tunnel was closed, and so was the Viaduct. Ugh. My first thought: I5. But after waiting in a line of non-moving cars for about 15 minutes, I opted to head down to the water to try Alaskan Way. It was cake getting down there, and not too bad for awhile, and then oh boy, it just stopped. I immediately made a phone call so Pablo would be well taken care of until I got home, whenever that would be. That relieved most of my stress. I sat on Alaskan Way forever. I made it Qwest Stadium, where I seemed at a forever-standstill. I looked up at the Viaduct and periodically saw a car drive by. I also heard on the radio that they had recently reopened the West Seattle Bridge, it had been de-iced and it was clear. I wanted to be on the bridge!! It was 8:00 at this point. I had left Greenlake three hours earlier. Normally, no traffic, it takes me 15 minutes to get home. I was nearing a meltdown. I had to pee. I was hungry, and I didn’t know what to do. I called my friend Dawn, and my BF, and before either of them confirmed or denied the opening of the viaduct, I took a risk and turned around. Seconds later, I hear on the radio, “The viaduct is still closed.” BASTARD! I still drove to Columbia anyway, just to see for myself…it was indeed, closed. (Meltdown begins here). In the middle of this meltdown, however, I was happy to have my new car, which drove perfectly in the mess. No sliding, I could drive over anything, and I felt safe and warm. I had my bluetooth for talking on the phone and for playing Pandora. I was really loving my car.

So, after the mini-meltdown (it really wasn’t that mini, actually), I headed to 4th Ave S. I wanted to get on I5 South to get on the clear West Seattle Bridge. During this detour, I was on the phone with the  sweet BF, who had the traffic pulled up on his computer. He was directing me based on the color of the traffic on the roads. Just hearing his voice, calmed me. I passed a Jack in the Box, and he told me  to turn around to get some food and to pee. I ate the food in seconds…I was starving. And I peed for a while, too (sorry). Then, back on the road. I felt like I was road tripping again! The BF directed me down a few streets, which were smooth sailing for a while, but then…stop. I was stopped for too long, before I heard once again on the radio how clear the West Seattle Bridge was. So, I flipped a bit$h for the umpteenth time and headed up Edgar Martinez Drive, and got on I5 South. Traffic was actually moving. It was slow, but it was moving. I let cars in front of me, and cars waved. Everyone was working together in the hell we were all trying to get out of. Once I was on the bridge, it was surreal. It was 9:45, 4 hours, 45 minutes since I left work. There were hardly any cars, except for the dozen or so abandoned to the right. The road was clear, and I was zooming right along. Then I come to Admiral. Admiral is no small hill, and it was covered with snow and sheets of ice. There was a bus stopped right in the middle, and the right side of the road was lined with abandoned cars. I wanted to help someone…take some people off the bus and get them to the top, but I was really tired, and didn’ t want to be a do-gooder badly enough, apparently. I got up the hill no problem…not one skid, slip, or anything even the slightest bit scary.

I pulled into my driveway at 10:00 to find huge branches fallen from trees. I opted to park my car on the street. I walked into the house with an awesome greeting from my puppy. I took him out to play in the snow for a bit (it was really cold and really windy), and then I hunkered down into bed to listen to branches falling on my house all night, praying a tree wouldn’t crush us.

I woke up this morning to the aftermath, called work and told them I was not leaving my house today. So, Pablo and I had a snow day!

We played in the snow for two hours. We went and got coffee, walked to the junction to see if yoga classes were being held today…they were! YAY! I was supposed to run 5 miles, but there was no way I was running on the ice.

We walked through the neighborhoods playing in the snow, meeting people, sharing our horrific commutes from last night, and people goo gooing over my handsome dog. Everyone was happy today. It was a beautiful day. 🙂

And a little video of my friend frollicking in the snow: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6K7xSQSaXo

After yoga (which was one of the best classes I have had in a while), I gave Pablo a bath, washed all his bedding (he is preparing for Thanskgiving dinner) and did some chores around the house.

It was a perfect snow day, and I spent it with a perfect boy. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 24, 2010 in Happiness, Just for fun, Outdoor fun, Pablo, Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
