RSS

Back in training

28 Sep

I keep on getting e-mails from the Seattle Marathon. Up until today, I hadn’t thought anything of them. But today, I realized the Seattle Marathon (and 1/2 marathon) is only two months away, AND…I want to run it! I know I said the next race I run will be a full marathon, but I am ready to run another race,ย and I am not quite prepared to train for a full marathon. I have been running consistently, so training for the half should be no problem. I normally do a 12 week training program, but there are only 8 weeks until the race, so I am jumping in at week 4. I am going to do it! I am really excited to start training again.

So, today, I jumped right into week 4 with hill training. I ran 5 long hills. I always use the same hill for my hill training. It takes me about 2:30 to run up each hill and about 2:20 to run down. It felt great. ๐Ÿ™‚

It feels really good to have a goal to work toward again. I am not sure about my personal time goal yet. The Seattle Half Marathon is much more challenging than the Rock and Roll, both the course and the conditions (usually). Breaking 1:40.00 is a HUGE goal on this course. I think I would be happy breaking 1:45.00. I will check back in a couple of weeks to see where my speed is.

So, the race is 2 months from today. Thanksgiving weekend. It will be cold, gray, dark and rainy then. Yuck. But, I am super excited to be back in training. ๐Ÿ™‚

And, since summer is now officially over, and we are into fall, it is time to think about school. I have already started the preliminary process for Grad school, AND Pablo goes back to school next month, too!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 28, 2010 in Happiness, Running

 

Leave a Reply

 
