RSS

The timing is perfect

24 Aug

I just had the most amazing weekend. How is it they keep getting better? AND it was a four day weekend. Ahhh.

The weekend started with an old and dear friend reconnecting with me.

Then, Pablo and I headed east of the mountains for a party at my friend’s cabin on Lake Kachess. Fun times.

Then, as we were heading back over the pass the next day, ANOTHER old and dear friend called me. Someone I haven’t spoken with in years, but have known a long time. He was making a quick, last-minute trip up to Seattle! For the past year, he has been traveling around the country filming for a project he is working on. In Seattle, among other things, he needed to film someone doing yoga. (More on this later).

Then, another old and dear friend of mine who now lives out of the country was in town, and had a get together with all our old-school friends. This was a group of friends I partied hard with 15 years ago. It was amazing to see everyone, and see much everyone has grown up!  A couple of them haven’t drank in a while either, 7+ years, so it was great to talk with them about my accomplishment, and to hear how it’s been for them.

Then, I headed back over the mountains to go climbing. We went to Vantage. It was amazing. The weather was perfect (upper 70’s and a slight breeze), and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. I practiced my new tricks (cleaning the anchor and rappelling) on some short routes on the small wall. I did it all by myself! Each time got easier and easier, and when I was comfortable, we moved to the big, bad, long routes on the big wall. It was incredible! I felt…cool! 😉 I was up there all alone, clipping gear, knotting the rope, feeding the rope through the chains, unclipping gear, and then rappelling down. It was exhilarating! I am very proud of myself, and it feels great to take climbing one step further. We climbed all day…until I got blisters on my fingers (that has never happened before). I can’t wait to go again!

I came home, and rushed to the airport to pick up my friend. We had a nice dinner, and caught up on each others’ lives.

Then, this morning, I woke up (earlier than I wanted) to be a model! Yes, me, a model. My friend filmed ME as the person doing yoga. It was so much fun, and a great way to start the day. I did yoga, outside in the beautiful sunshine, with the Seattle skyline and Mt. Rainier in the backdrop. So, watch for me in a few months, people, I may be famous. 😉 I then spent the rest of the day with my friend before I drove him to the airport to say goodbye. 😦

After the airport, I went to yoga. There was a male instructor, which was a first for me. It was really, really hot, and pretty relaxing. Almost too relaxing? I got some good stretching, but it was a tad boring at times. I am used to intense Bikram, so this may take some getting used to. Or, it may just not be the yoga for me. I think this was my fifth class? Maybe 6th? I will try to go a few more times before I leave next week for my big trip. I am going on a week-long road trip for my birthday. I am VERY much looking forward to it. More details later.

This long weekend was a nice reprieve from the intensely emotional memory-filled week. I finished up the weekend feeling loved, lucky, blessed, inspired, relaxed, hopeful, and happy. All of these special people are entering (and re-entering) my life at a perfect time, and I am in a place to welcome them with a warm heart, and open arms. I must have done something right in my life…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 24, 2010 in Climbing, Happiness, Outdoor fun, Pablo, Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
