RSS

New yoga is good yoga

10 Aug

Class #1 at I Love Hot Yoga, done. It was exactly what I needed today.

I woke up sore, and got progressively sore as the day wore on. I took a class yesterday titled, “Survivor.” It was at a gym (I went as a guest), and it was all interval training. One minute each of: jumping jacks, 3 different abs exercises, jumping up on a step, slalom over a step, burpees, full burpees, lunges, one legged squats, dips, pushups, pushups with hands on the step and elbows very close in to the body, running in place, etc. We did all of these three times for an hour. It kicked my ASS! I felt out of shape and really, really weak. 😦

I went for a long walk with Pablo today, and a 3 mile run. I think this helped stretch out my hamstrings and glutes, which I thought were going to be really sore. My abs were screaming all day, however, and as yoga approached, I was a little apprehensive. It was a new class so I didn’t know what to expect.

I got to the studio and filled out paperwork. You are given a number, since they only allow 30 people in each class. Guess what number I was given? Yup, 3. 🙂 The studio was much smaller than I was used to, and even with the 30 people limit, there wasn’t much room in between each person. The instructor taught from the back of the room, which was a little weird. As the class went on, I really started to enjoy it. The heat felt great, of course, and it was a lot less intense than Bikram. Each posture was held much longer, and it felt great since I really needed to stretch today. Most of the postures were new to me, but there were a couple that were Bikram postures: Tree pose (called lotus in this class), Toe Stand Pose, and Bow Pose, and some were similar to Bikram. I also did a backbend (called wheel pose, I think), which I hadn’t done since I was a kid, and I had no problem. 🙂 When we got to the floor poses, we did some ab work, which was painful since my abs were so sore.

The class was 90 minutes, and I breezed through it. It was a nice change of pace, and I liked experiencing something new. The instructor played music, and her playlist was really, really good. The last song she played was beautiful, and I wanted to ask her what it was, but immediately after class, she disappeared into the shower room, and I couldn’t exactly follow her in there.

I am going to class again tomorrow night, and then taking a 6:30AM class Friday. Friday’s class is Vinyasa power yoga. It is only 60 minutes, and a lot more intense. It is also done in the heated room…107 degrees. THAT is going to kick my booty.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 10, 2010 in Pablo, Running, Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
