RSS

My grown up life

18 Jul

Wow. Wow. Wow. Another amazing weekend. And I got to share it with Pablo. I think Pablo had more fun than I did this weekend. And THAT is what made my weekend so amazing.

Pablo and I floated the Yakima River Saturday. I have never floated a river, and I have always wanted to, so we did it. I always envisioned I would float the river and drink beer, too, but I had water instead, which was just fine. (It’s 11 months today, by the way) I got Pablo his own inner tube and life jacket. He was a little freaked out at first, and I thought it was going to be a very long, unrelaxing day, but he eventually relaxed…after he climbed into my lap. 🙂 So, we floated the river in my tube, with him on my lap the whole way. Toward the end, he had his head resting on my shoulder and he was snoring. It was a little uncomfortable for me, and he was blocking most of my sun, but he was happy, so I was happy, too. 🙂 He was not lacking any attention by all the groups of people (and dogs) we floated by. It took us a little under 3 hours to float the river (stopped a couple times to do some cliff jumping).

After we floated the river, we all headed back to a friend’s cabin on the lake to spend the rest of our weekend. We were greeted by lots more people, two more dogs (little dogs about the same age as Pablo), and children, too. Pablo was in heaven!! We had a great dinner, which included fresh crab caught hours before by someone in our party. It was delicious! Pablo had some, too. 🙂 Pablo charmed everyone, and was so excited to be able to run down to the lake whenever he wanted, then come back up to the house, then back down to the lake. He had a long, busy, exciting, fun-filled day, and finally, around 10:00PM, he couldn’t keep his eyes open any longer and found the most inconvenient place (in the door way which leads from the kitchen to the outside area) to plop down to sleep and snore. Everyone who went in or out stopped to pet him, of course, but he was crashed out.

Pablo snored on the floor next to me all night, and in the morning, he had lots more outside time, barking at the jet skiers on the lake, chasing after sticks with the kids in the lake, and trying to play with a squirrel. A little while later, he hung out with two more dogs (bigger dogs) who at first, we weren’t sure if they all were going to get along, but with a little patience from all humans and dogs, they ended up enjoying each others’ company. 🙂

Pablo is now having post-vacation depression, or he is just extremely pooped out. I am thinking the latter.

Pablo and I had a perfect summer weekend getaway with amazing people and fun adventures. I am getting used to, and really enjoying, my new grown-up life. It suits me well. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 18, 2010 in Outdoor fun, Pablo

 

Leave a Reply

 
