RSS

A couple of new projects

01 Jul

I have two new projects to work on. They’re not huge projects, which will take months of training, but they’re projects that will give me a feeling of accomplishment.

Project #1

I am sleep-training Baby H. He will be 5 months on Saturday, and it is time for him to sleep in his own crib, in his own room, and learn to put himself to sleep. He has been a great sleeper: he slept through the night at 3 months, and he takes great naps (most of the time), BUT most of his sleep was spent in a swingy chair where he was rock, rock, rocked to sleep, and back to sleep if he woke up briefly. He has not been on a schedule of any kind, and it was apparent he wasn’t getting enough sleep: he would fall asleep within minutes when we went for a car ride or for a walk in the stroller. This was not working for any of us anymore. So Monday, we all decided this would be the week to establish better sleeping habits. I was in charge of the process. I implemented the rules, and demanded we all were consistent or this wouldn’t work.

Monday: It was pretty much a wash. His room wasn’t set up for him to nap. It was too bright, and too much stimuli. After listening to him cry for a total of 10 minutes, I gave up. I wasn’t ready. 😦

Tuesday: He was sleeping in the swingy chair when I got to work. GRRRR. So, for his afternoon nap, I put him in bed…awake, and listened to the crying. Ouch. I went in after 1 minute, then 2, then 3, then 3 again, then 5. In between 3 minutes and the 5 minute wait, he started to calm down. I went in two more times, and then he fell asleep. He startled himself awake a couple of times, but immediately went back to sleep on his own. PROGRESS! He slept 30 minutes. Not enough, but it was a start.

Wednesday: I don’t get to work until 1 on Wednesdays. I found out he took his morning nap in his swingy chair again, so I had a meeting with Mom and Dad. We were all 100% on the same page after the meeting. For his next nap, I put him in his crib. He cried for an hour. 😦 I went in very often, but that just made him more mad. After an hour (I lied on the floor outside his room nearly in tears myself), I went in and got him up and soothed him. He was tired, and hoarse. We would try again next nap.

So, for the next nap, he was asleep within 20 minutes. I went in after 10 minutes, and then 8 minutes after that he started quieting, then 2 minutes later he was asleep. 🙂 He only slept 30 minutes again, but I didn’t want him to have to cry anymore, so I went in and got him up. Before I left for the day I gave Mom and Dad explicit instructions on how to put him down for the night and what to do if he woke up.

Day 4: Last night went great! Mom put Baby H down, and he quieted and put himself to sleep in 8 minutes. She didn’t even have to go in! He woke up briefly at 2, but put himself back to sleep. He then slept until 6, ate, and went back to bed from 7-8:30, with minimal fussing. I got there at 9, and he seemed tired already. So, I put him back down for a nap at 10:00. He cried for 5 minutes, then started quieting and was quiet before 10 minutes, and asleep within 15 minutes. He slept for 45 minutes. He probably could have slept longer, but again, I didn’t want him to have to cry anymore.

For the next nap, it got better. Cried for 3 minutes, quiet and asleep within 5 minutes! Again, he slept for 45 minutes, and probably could have  slept longer. We had lots of loving play time.

Next nap, he quieted within 30 seconds. It took a little longer for him to quiet completely, but he was asleep within 10 minutes! He slept for 55 minutes.

He is also showing me (us) that around 2 hours after he wakes up, he is ready for another nap, so this equates to about three naps/day. As the naps get a little longer, he will probably go to 2 naps. It seems his sleep cycle is about 45 minutes, so if I leave him when he wakes up after 45 minutes, I think he will go back to sleep. Tomorrow, I will try this.

It is awesome to see the progress. It’s hard, but it works! This little guy is going to be putting himself to sleep without crying at all in no time. Tomorrow maybe? It makes me feel good to know I am playing a huge part in establishing good sleep habits for this baby.

Project #2

I am climbing Mt. Adams next weekend. There hasn’t been much planning involved in this one. I am excited, but a little nervous. I don’t have much exposure to that high elevation, so I have no idea how my body will react. I definitely have the endurance training, but not the elevation. So, we shall see. 🙂

Great yoga class last night, and a 3.2 mile run (outside of Greenlake) tonight. The run went really, really well considering how sore my quads are still. I ran a 7.2 minute mile. I could have run longer, and I probably should have. I had a lot of thinking to do.

I get to see my boy, Pablo tomorrow. That makes me smile. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 1, 2010 in Children, Pablo, Running, Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
