RSS

1:39.49!!

27 Jun

Wow. I trained my butt off, and it definitely paid off. I had an AWESOME race! My time? 1:39.49! I CRUSHED my goal!! I felt amazing. It was an incredible run.

We got to the start a little after 6AM. After waiting in a LONG bathroom line, I found my way to my corral to start the race. I had to pee again before we even started, but I didn’t have time to go. I found a 1:45.00 pace runner. Originally my goal was 1:49.59, since my personal best is 1:50.00, but after my training, I realized I may be closer to 1:45.00, so I decided running with someone who knew how to keep pace was a good idea. I didn’t want to start too strong, and lose steam toward the end.

It was a struggle to stay with the pace runner, however. He was WAY too slow! After mile 2, I decided to break away, thinking only momentarily it may not be a good idea, but I only felt stronger, and stronger, and soon the pace runner was long gone. Around mile 5, I started to feel a slight burn in my quads. I could feel my previous week of training (and no stretching), and I was concerned how my legs would feel 5, 6, 8 miles later. After noticing my time was getting faster, I thought: Should I slow down? I decided, I have to run 13.1 miles no matter what, and my quads were going to burn no matter what, so it would be better to continue running fast to finish faster so I wouldn’t have to prolong the pain. It was a good decision.

Around mile 8, I noticed this woman running by me, who looked like a runner: she was petite, lean, and muscular, and she seemed to be running effortlessly. I maintained pace with her for a while, and then she pulled away from me a bit. I then caught up to her, and passed her, and then minutes later, she passed me. We kept this up for a few miles until mile 10, I passed her and never looked back. 🙂

After mile 9, something incredible happened. I got a surge of energy. My legs felt like they were jet propelled. My pace increased, and I started passing everyone, and I mean everyone. After mile 10, not one person passed me, and I was ripping by everyone in my path. It felt amazing. When I saw where my time was, I decided I was going to break 1:40.00, which seemed impossible going into the race today, BUT…I did it! I crossed the finish line at 1:39.49. I still can’t believe it. Right after I crossed the finish line, a guy came up to me and said, “Nice push to the finish. You pushed me to finish strong, too! Nice job.” That was so great to hear. 🙂

So, my splits are:

Mile 1: 8:06.51

Mile 2: 8:28.06

Mile 3: 7:20.37 (this is when I decided to leave the 1:45.00 pace runner in the dust)

Mile 4: 7:56.71

Mile 5: 8:22.74 (this is when my quads began to burn)

Mile 6: 7:28.59

Mile 7: 7:25.71

Mile 8: 7:45:38

Mile 9: 7:39:99

Mile 10: 7:18:88 (this is when the angels deposited the jet engines on my legs)

Mile 11: 6:59:88

Mile 12: 6:32.46 (this is when the jet engines turned on the turbo boost. I am blown away by this split time)

Mile 13 + .1 (didn’t get my last mile split, but it was under 7 minutes): 7:26.92

My pace was: 7:37

My stats are:

507/17593 overall (top 3%)

145/12560 women (top 1%)

23/2210 my age group (top 1%)

http://results.active.com/pages/oneResult.jsp?pID=87215589&rsID=95358

I still cannot believe how fast I ran, especially the last few miles. My last three miles were all under 7 minutes! I am proud of myself, and amazed, and excited. I am very excited to run my next race. Now I just need to decide which one it will be.

I met my fundraising goal, and beat my goal time. This race was a huge success!

The course was fun, too. The weather was perfect for running, and there was a lot going on: bands, spectators, cheerleaders. The finish was right outside Qwest field, and there was live music and a beer garden inside .

My day was spent partaking in post-race goodness. I got home late and exhausted. It was a perfect day.

So, it’s over. All my hard work, dedication, and focus is done. Now what? I rest for a little bit, relish in my accomplishment, and then start it all over again. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2010 in Running, Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “1:39.49!!

  1. ultrarunnerbrianphilpot

    June 27, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Great job! That’s a great time!

     
  2. JulieG

    June 27, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    Thanks! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
