RSS

Crossing my fingers

15 Jun

By the time I left work yesterday, my ankle had considerable swelling, and I was walking with a limp. 😦 My mood was “down in the dumps.” All this hard work with my training and fundraising, and now I may not even be able to run. I was mad at myself for injuring myself, and mad at myself for putting myself in a risky situation where injury was easily possible (especially with my accident-prone history). With less than two weeks to go until the race, I should be focusing on running and yoga, and taking it easy, NOT climbing outside where the risk of injury is so high. Dumb. Well, lesson learned. No climbing until after the race.

I went to yoga last night in hopes of miracle healing. I spoke with the instructor before class about my injury and asked her if she thought it was wise for me to practice. She said it wouldn’t hurt, and the heat would be good for it. If postures became unbearable, especially the balancing series, then I should definitely rest. So, I attempted class, if only to help calm my mind.

Class actually was pretty good. The balancing postures didn’t cause me too much trouble. The most difficult postures for me were: Awkward Pose, Eagle Pose, and Toe Stand Pose. All these poses required bending at the ankle, and it was impossible, and painful. 😦 I felt my ankle/foot swell more, but I felt too good everywhere else to rest.

I also managed to see improvement in Triangle Pose. I actually got my fingers on the floor!! 🙂 And, in Standing Separate Leg Head to Knee Pose, I got a, “Very nice, Julie”,  from the instructor.

I made it through class. I got VERY emotional several times. I limped out of the room feeling saddened about my injured limb.

When I got home, I alternated ice and heat for several hours. I was really concerned, as it didn’t seem to be feeling any better.

BUT, when I woke up this morning, and put the first weight of the day on my foot, it actually felt okay! It definitely wasn’t worse. I walked normally to the bathroom, with hardly a trace of limp. After I showered I wrapped my ankle, and prayed I was on the mend. Still no bruising, so that is a good sign.

I have a 5 mile run tonight, which I will probably have to shave down just to make sure I can even run. I will do it on the treadmill to ensure I have a smooth run. I am crossing my fingers…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 15, 2010 in Running, Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
