RSS

I see the light…

13 Jun

Wow. What an end to my weekend. I just got home from a jam-packed, fun-filled, sunshiny, energy expending day. My day consisted of:

12 mile run this morning. It went awesome! It was one of my best runs yet. I prepared last night by eating the most food I have eaten in months, and I had the best night sleep I have had in months, too…maybe even years. 🙂

I started my run trying to take it easy and run slower than my usual pace. I just wanted to finish without feeling like I was going to die. I felt great! I had spring in my step, and a smile on my face. Even though my run felt easy and I was trying to run slower, at the halfway mark, I was running faster than an 8 minute mile. I finished the whole run in exactly 96 minutes, which is exactly an 8 minute mile! And the most exciting part? I could have run longer…no problem. If it was the actual race, I could have really pushed the last 3.1 miles, which means my time would have been somewhere around 1:44.00. Wow. CRUSHING my best time. 🙂

So, after my run, I head back to my house to find my lawn mowed and my yard weed whacked! My nice neighbor did it for me. 🙂 I had totally neglected my yard. I just haven’t had any spare time lately, so I am very grateful. I am sure my neighbor was fed up with looking at my forest, but I am sure it was also done out of kindness. Thank you.

And after a 12 mile run, you would think I would want to relax, right? Wrong. I quickly showered, and went climbing! Outside again. 🙂 We went to Exit 38, North Bend. http://www.deceptioncrags.com/ I climbed pretty hard, too. Yes, I am an animal. ROAR! It was amazing. I went with my new climbing partner, who I am so happy is my climbing partner. We climbed for over 4 hours, and I impressed myself (and my climbing partner, who has been climbing MUCH longer than I have) with my climbing skills once again. I climbed routes today that were difficult and scary the last time I climbed them, and I breezed through them today. Even though I have hardly climbed in the past few months, I actually have improved. It’s awesome! We are going to try to squeeze in a couple more times outside before I head out of town next Sunday for a week. I will be learning how to lead very, very soon. 🙂

Home from climbing and dinner and into a salt bath. AHHHHH.

I also had a 6 mile run yesterday, which went pretty well. I did it in 45.30, which is about a 7 1/2 minute mile.

And yoga on Friday morning? I slept through my alarm. Turned it off in my sleep, actually. I took melatonin for the first time, and it knocked me out. I guess I needed the sleep, and it probably wasn’t a bad idea to take a day off from exercise. I hadn’t taken a day off completely in months. So, I took Baby H for a long walk instead. 😉

I start my second to last week of training on Tuesday! The race is almost here! Come cheer me on! 🙂

AND, I only have $160 to reach my goal!! Keep the donations coming, people, please. THANK YOU!http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR?px=15126107&fr_id=25749&pg=personal

I see the light…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2010 in Climbing, Running

 

Leave a Reply

 
