RSS

Climbing…for real!!

08 Jun

I went climbing today!! Outside! On real rock. It was real climbing! YESSSS!! It was amazing. Now I remember why I like climbing so much. Climbing outside is completely different from climbing at the gym…SO much better. It is problem solving, and it enables my mind to focus on one thing only: solving the puzzle.

I was a little apprehensive about climbing outside: new climbing partner, and I hadn’t climbed outside in 9 months? (I can’t remember…the past year is a blur). But, the new climbing partner proved to be awesome, and I did awesome, too! I climbed a 10c! I did moves I wouldn’t have been able to do in the past. My fingers were able to grip tiny holds I only imagined gripping in the past.

We climbed until it rained on us. In fact, it starting raining on me pretty hard on the last route. Quite the experience…climbing in the rain, on wet rock, but I managed just fine, and we got out of there right when it started pouring. AND, it was nearly dark by the time we got to the car. I was SO happy to have climbed outside…I want to go every day!

I also ran 4 miles this morning. I am VERY relaxed right now…and content. 🙂

Yoga last night was HARD! The room was really, really hot, and I felt weak. 😦 I had to rest several times, and I was a little mad at myself. Disappointed (which is WAAAAAAAY worse). Although class was really hard, it was exactly what my mind needed. I had an emotional overload before class (hadn’t had it happen in a while), and yoga calmed my mind. I was so focused on not falling over that I had forgotten about the many stresses I had when I entered class. Thanks, yoga.

Climbing, yoga, running…my antidepressants. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2010 in Climbing, Running, Yoga

 

2 responses to “Climbing…for real!!

  1. Slamdunk

    June 9, 2010 at 2:46 am

    Climbing in the rain would have made me nervous–sounds like you are much braver than I am.

     
  2. Julie G

    June 9, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Not sure I would call it bravery, just an insatiable desire to climb! After hearing the thunder and seeing the lightning, and feeling the first couple sprinkles, I wasn’t ready to end the day. I needed ONE more climb. And that is what I got. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
