RSS

Hug a little longer

17 May

Wow. Tonight’s yoga class was AMAZING! It was hot, intense, and one of my best classes yet. It started off great when I walked in and saw someone I knew who gave me a hug, and held me for a long, long time. It is amazing how a hug can make you feel when you really need one. I was in a foul mood, and the hug calmed me. I then walked into class, feeling all warm and fuzzy. Class was PACKED! The busiest class yet. And man, it was muggy. I didn’t know how my body would react to the humidity, but it sure liked it. ๐Ÿ™‚ The great class started right away with the first breathing exercise. I was able to take the deepest breaths I have been able to take in a while, and it just got better from there!

I saw HUGE improvements tonight, in nearly every pose! YAY! Most notable were:

Half Moon Pose with Hands to Feet Pose: This is the one that really works my abs, and I was able to go the deepest yet!

Standing Head to Knee Pose: ย I was able to kick my leg out on both sides (second set) and hold it for the entire time. Also, my standing leg is getting more stable.

Standing Separate Leg Stretching: ย My hamstrings were REALLY sore, but my head is inching closer to the floor.

Triangle Pose (still my least favorite even though I know how to do it correctly. It’s HARD!): I did both sets. THAT is an accomplishment. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tree Pose: THIS was the most exciting improvement. Normally, I have to hold onto my foot with one hand, while I bring the other hand to prayer position. Tonight, I was looking around the room in envy of the people who can let go of their foot with both hands, and bring both hands to prayer position. I thought, “Man, good for them. I am not there yet.” And then, I tried it, I let go with my other hand, and I did it! On both sides! Yipppppeeeeee! ๐Ÿ™‚

All the floor poses felt wonderful, as usual. I was drenched after class, and boy, did I feel good. REALLY good.ย  My mood had completely changed, and as I walked into the dressing room, I had a smile on my face. I sat down and chit chatted with a bunch of people, as we all talked about how great class was tonight, and how humid it was. I didn’t want to leave, I felt too good. I actually felt happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

I got to see my best friend, Pablo, before class, too. It was great to see him,ย asย usual. He also gave me a much-needed hug. I wish I could bring him to yoga with me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I learned tonight how much I needed someone to just hold me; I was craving it. Next time YOU hug someone, make sure you hold on a little longer than you usually do, because the person you are hugging may need a hug as much as I needed one today.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2010 in Happiness, Pablo, Yoga

 

2 responses to “Hug a little longer

  1. kara

    May 19, 2010 at 6:30 am

    I am so proud of you and all of your accomplishments you inspire me in so many ways. BIG HUG to you Julie ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Julie G

    May 19, 2010 at 7:14 am

    Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
