RSS

Fried green tomatoes

26 Apr

Bad night sleep again, unfortunately. 😦 Up early to go on a tour of Jekyll Island. It was beautiful out! We went on a tram tour of historic homes and the Jekyll Island Club. Most notable, was the Rockefeller house, Indian Mound Cottage. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indian_Mound_Cottage

It was built in 1891 as a summer home for William McKay (http://people.seas.harvard.edu/~jones/mckay/mckay.html), and purchased by the Rockefellers in 1905. It was originally over 9000 square feet, and the Rockefellers added over 3000 square feet. It is now over 13,000 square feet! Yes, massive.

 We had lunch at the Crane Cottage, which is part of the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. It is my favorite building of the hotel, and it is BEAUTIFUL.  (Stucco and tile roof…my favorite). http://www.jekyllclub.com/meetings.asp?id=114

I had a fried green tomato sandwich for lunch, and it was delicious! I told myself I had to have fried green tomatoes before I left the South. It was in a sandwich, but it was green, nonetheless…and fried…and yummy! 🙂

After lunch, we sat on the piazza of the main hotel, and relaxed. We then went back to our hotel, and I went for a 4 mile run. I felt like I was in Hawaii, running along the palm tree-lined road parallel to the ocean. It was beautiful. I had a lot of company on my run: dragonflies and butterflies everywhere! I had to make sure I kept my mouth closed so I didn’t swallow any. 🙂

After my run, I went down to the pool to lie out and go swimming. I also went down to the beach, which was directly behind our hotel. Breathtaking. For some reason, being on the beach stirred up a lot of emotion for me.

I then went back to the room to get ready for dinner…our last dinner of our trip. We went to Driftwood Bistro. I don’t recommend it.

Tomorrow we go to St. Augustine, FL, before getting on a plane at 6PM and heading back home.

I am heading to bed early to try to get a good night sleep so I can feel normal. Good night y’all. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2010 in Food/Restaurants, Running, Travel

 

Leave a Reply

 
