RSS

Charleston, you’ve aged nicely

22 Apr

(This was my day yesterday. Didn’t get around to posting it until this morning)

I got up at 8:00 this morning (5AM, Seattle time), which wouldn’t have been too bad except I slept horribly. 😦 I felt like I was awake every hour. I had weird dreams. My mouth was dry from the air conditioning. I had to go to the bathroom because of the water I was drinking to get rid of my dry mouth. It sucked. I felt hung over. Ugh.

We had a quick breakfast, then got on the tour bus for a morning tour of downtown Charleston. It was great! Charleston really is a beautiful city…and so old! It’s crazy how old all the buildings are. We stopped at the Joseph Manigault house. It’s a 10,000 square foot mansion built in 1803.  http://www.charlestonmuseum.org/topic.asp?id=19

We drove to the Citadel, and right through the campus. http://www.citadel.edu/main/

As we were entering the campus, we saw the highlight of my trip, so far:  

(Shout out to MY bulldog, Pablo!) We were on the bus when we passed this, so when we got off the bus, we ran back to get a picture.

There were cadets everywhere walking around campus (we were lucky enough to catch them between classes). The freshmen, who wore all black caps, had to 1) walk in the gutters and 2) salute the upperclassmen(and women). This was interesting to watch. I tried to make eye contact with some of the freshmen, but they wouldn’t look at me! (My mom said otherwise). They were stone-faced, stiff bodied and walking very fast. You could definitely pick the freshmen out of the bunch. The campus is beautiful, and the buildings look fortess-like.

We went into the gift shop where I bought a Citadel Bulldogs t-shirt, and a bulldog bobble head. 🙂

We then drove along the water to see the mansions that I saw yesterday on my run. We saw the oldest house in Charleston, built in 1780. It is MASSIVE.

And another huge mansion right next door:

Every building in Charleston that is 75 years old or older cannot be torn down. So, we saw buildings that have been “recycled.” We saw an old train station, which is now a grocery store. We saw another old train station, which is now a visitors’ center. I learned that the side porches on the houses are called piazzas.

We finished our tour up with a trip to the market. (OUR market, Pike Place Market, is much better, in my opinion). We had lunch at a little deli, and walked through the market.

When we got back to the hotel, I went to the pool to relax. I spent a few hours there, got some much-needed sun, and some quiet time before heading out for a 5 mile run.

I was tired. My run was a struggle. It wasn’t very warm, lower 70’s, but the humidity made it feel much warmer, and I was hot. I think I might be jet-lagged. I know it’s only three hours later here, but I haven’t gotten much sleep, and the time change has messed with me.  It should be easier on me going home…hopefully.

I misran my route, which made the run much shorter than I needed, so I ended up running up and down streets downtown, which was slightly annoying because of all the people on the sidewalks, the cops on bicycles giving j-walking tickets (so I HAD to wait at each light…grrr). I did run through (yes, through…there was no gate!) a dog park. I watched an adorable fawn French Bulldog wrestle with a Min-Pin (they were both puppies). I ran about 43 minutes, which with all the stopping at lights, was a little less than my required 5 miles. I felt guilty for short-changing my run, but I was pooped. (Wow, it sounds like I am complaining. Sorry. I’m not, really).

We went to dinner at Muse. It is a very cool little restaurant with yummy food. (website on yesterday’s post) I had scallops with tomato risotto and a butter lettuce salad (hold the gorgonzola) with almonds and sherry vinaigrette. Both were amazing. I had an O’Douls and gelato for dessert, vanilla, caramel, and chocolate. Yummers.

I felt like we saw a lot of the city today, and learned a lot, too. The history is pretty incredible. The weather was great today for sightseeing, not too hot. The heat kicks in tomorrow…ooh, boy. We’ll see how I handle it…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 22, 2010 in Food/Restaurants, Running, Travel

 

Leave a Reply

 
