RSS

On the road again

06 Apr

First day of training done. 4 mile run. Felt great. 🙂

I am going to share something else that makes me happy. I have a new man in my life. I have only known him for a couple of weeks, yet he has already captured my heart. He is a very little man. Only 13 pounds. And…he is 8 weeks old. 🙂 After many years of struggling to find a career that makes me happy and fulfills me, I have finally decided to do what comes naturally: I am a full-time nanny for an adorable 8 week old baby boy. Actually I am nanny to him and to two incredible twin 14 month old girls. I split my week days between the two families, and let me tell you, they get me out of bed each morning. Mondays and Wednesdays, I am with the twins, and I am welcomed each morning with squeals of delight, huge smiles, and loving hugs. The other days, I spend with my little man, and when he is awake (which is not very often yet), he shows me his huge smile, talks to me and seems extremely interested in everything I have to say. These children make me laugh and smile until my cheeks hurt and they shower me with unconditional love. I take great pride in watching their development, knowing I play a huge part in their learning.

I am a nurturer and a caretaker at heart. I tried being a sales girl, chasing the big bucks, and did okay, but was never satisfied. I always would come back to working with children. Children make me feel good about myself, they aren’t catty and superficial, they are honest, funny, and best of all, they respect me. Finally, I have discovered and accepted my passion. They say that when your work doesn’t feel like work, you have found your passion. So true. I sometimes feel guilty getting paid for what I do because if I didn’t need the money, I would do this for free.

I have decided to take my passion a step further and couple it with something else I am passionate about: education. I love learning. Crave it, actually. After I got my Bachelors degree, I knew I would go back to school. All these years it has been in the back of my head. I took the GMAT years ago thinking I “should” go to business school. Business doesn’t excite me, I have zero passion for it. Scratch that. I got back into real estate because I thought it would make me a lot of money. I wasn’t passionate about it, however. Scratch that, too. So, here I am back doing what I love. Why not continue my education in something I love? I finally figured it out! So, I am looking into Masters programs in Education, and I am very, very excited about it. One of the things I am most proud of was my completing my undergraduate degree with an admirable GPA, and loving every minute of it. My ultimate goal, which can be accomplished before I complete my Masters, is to start my own in-home “nanny care” business. So, here begins the long road of going to school again, and doing things which make me feel really, really good about myself. That makes me smile. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 6, 2010 in Children, Happiness, Running

 

Leave a Reply

 
