RSS

My escape

29 Mar

Tonight’s class was really, really good. It was hot, and packed, but I did great (well, I felt great, so in my eyes, I did great). I had a snack an hour and a half before class, which I think helped. I had more energy tonight, even though I didn’t get very much sleep last night at all.

Erika taught class tonight, and she greeted me, “Hello, Miss Julie” when I walked in. Cute. It made me smile.

I really felt like I knew what I was doing tonight. And you know what’s really cool? I have always, always wanted to have my veins show in my biceps. Or, at least have one show. If you think I am weird, and have no idea what I am talking about, sorry, but it’s been a goal of mine for a while. And, tonight?? I noticed a large vein in my right bicep! YAY! Thanks, yoga. I found myself trying to flex as subtly as possible to make it stand out more. Geez, what a meathead I am.  

So, the improvements I noticed tonight:

Half Moon Pose with Hands to Feet Pose, , I was able to bend more than I have been able to, especially backwards.

Standing Head to Knee Pose, , I had my left leg straight out for nearly the entire time! (a little longer than yesterday). Next step, bend my arms.

In Toe Stand Pose, , I am now able to hold both hands up, in prayer position, for the ENTIRE time, when I am on my right foot. When I am on my left foot (the worse of my two bad ankles), I can bring my left hand up. I am aiming to bring the other hand up, too. Soon…

In Wind Removing Pose, , I am able to bring my left knee all the way up to my shoulder. I have done this before, but never in both sets, as I did tonight, and never has far as I did tonight. It was fully resting on my shoulder!

Tonight’s class felt great. I was pretty excited about going. It was yucky and wet outside, and I needed an escape from the dreariness that was around me. It was a success. I left class feeling really, really good. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 29, 2010 in Happiness, Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
