RSS

Stress is related to 99% of all illness

10 Mar

I went to yoga yesterday for the first time in over a week. I was needing it very much. I have been under the weather, and I thought it would be good for me to go and sweat out my sickness.

The warmth of the room felt so, so good. The first 15 minutes of class breezed by, but after that I started to feel nauseous…really nauseous. I was worried I might throw up, yet I didn’t want to quit early. I felt like if I could just burp, I would feel better. Maybe I drank too much water before class? Maybe I ate too much? I didn’t know why I felt so poorly. I took it easy the rest of class, and finally had a big burp. I felt quite a bit better after. I made it through class, and was so glad I did without barfing. That would have been very embarrassing.

I was TIRED. And I felt horrible. This was NO time to be sick. I got home and…threw up. Yuck. But, I did feel quite a bit better after. I was wondering if going to yoga was a bad idea: did the heat make me more sick? I was hoping the reason I threw up was just because I drank too much water before, and my tummy was overfilled. As the night progressed, and the nausea came back, I couldn’t deny it anymore, I had a bug. :( I threw up again before bed, and once more in the middle of the night. Yuck. The throwing up wasn’t so bad, it was the nausea which was unbearable. I can’t remember the last time I felt that horrible.

Luckily I felt better this morning. No more nausea. :) I had no food in my stomach, yet I had zero appetite. I managed to go to work, and I am hoping I had a 12 hour stomach bug, and I am on the mend. I think, however, I need to take it easy for the rest of the week as far as exercise goes.

The title of this blog reads, “Stress is related to 99% of all illness,” and I 100% agree with it. My stress levels have been extremely high lately, and I guess my body just said enough is enough. Luckily for me, however, I am strong and this bug didn’t knock me out completely.

(I apologize for all the barf talk).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 10, 2010 in Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
