RSS

Home again, home again…

08 Mar

(This was written last night).

I am at the airport. My vacation is over. It went by fast, I think. Instead of being filled with emotions, as I was prior to coming down, I am now numb. I really feel nothing. No sadness, no stress, no excitement, no anxiety, no yearning. Maybe it’s because I am sick? I woke up this morning and felt horrible. I REALLY didn’t want to get out of bed. I was sick, plain and simple. Every inch of my body hurt, including my skin. I don’t get sick. I usually do a pretty good job of fighting it off. I didn’t do so great this time. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ All I wanted to do was stay in bed and sleep. I was really, really tired. But, it was my last day of vacation, and Annie wanted to get breakfast, so I slowly dragged my aching body out of bed and got in the shower.

The last day consisted of:

1. Breakfast at Blue 32. http://bluethirtytwo.com/ I had been there before, but never for breakfast. I have drank…a LOT at Blue 32. I really didn’t have much of an appetite, but I knew I needed to eat. I ordered scrambled eggs with cheese, which came with french toast and french fries (strange, I know). It was good. I enjoyed the french fries the most. It was COLD inside. The front door was open, it was windy outside, and it was blowing right on us. I tried to order a hot chocolate…twice exactly (there was one server serving the whole restaurant), but they didn’t have hot chocolate. So, one of Annie and Mark’s very nice friends disappeared for a while, and came back with two extra large hot chocolates from Starbucks for us. THANK YOU!! ๐Ÿ™‚ We hung out for a while so the boys (and Annie) could watch the Lakers game. I took a call from my friend Osha who I was supposed to meet for lunch. Unfortunately, she couldn’t make it, but she did share some very exciting news with me. ๐Ÿ™‚

2. Walked back to Annie’s and we went to her boyfriend’s to watch the rest of the Lakers game. They lost. After the game, we put on Dexter, Season 1. I was trying to convince everyone this is one of the best shows. After watching two episodes, I think they are convinced???

3. I went back to Annie’s to pack. I then ordered a veggie sandwich from Ashley’s Deli. http://www.ashleysdeli.com/ Ashley’s is normally a staple when I visit Hermosa Beach, but we hadn’t gone there yet, and I couldn’t go back to Seattle without my Ashley’s fix. ๐Ÿ™‚

So…that’s it. That’s my vacation. Back home to reality. What is reality these days? There is so much going on right now, and as I said, I feel nothing. I don’t think I could cry if I wanted to. I don’t want to smile, I am not anxious about flying. I am not dreading anything. I am not excited to go home, I am not sad to leave. I am…I am…hmmm…

I do want to thank Annie for everything this weekend. She was an exceptional hostess (as she always is) and she took me to amazing restaurants. I am grateful she wasn’t drinking either, as I didn’t have the energy to go out and socialize too much, and I would have felt obligated to if that’s what she wanted to do. Thank you again, Annie. It was great to spend time with you, and your other half. Until next time, LA, goodbye…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2010 in Food/Restaurants, Travel

 

2 responses to “Home again, home again…

  1. Annie

    March 11, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Had so much fun ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you! Come back soon!!

     
    • Julie G

      March 11, 2010 at 5:49 pm

      I had so much fun, too! I will DEFINITELY be back very soon!

       

Leave a Reply

 
