RSS

What will class be like?

03 Mar

I am still amazed at how different each yoga class is for me: physically and mentally. I am still getting a system down as to what preparations will result in the best possible class: enough water, enough rest, the correct amount of food eaten at the correct time. Although more water before class is critical, there are some things I cannot control: temperature of the room, amount of people in class, amount of stinky people in my vicinity.

Tonight’s class was polar opposite to Friday’s class. It was VERY warm prior to class, but once we got going, I wasn’t affected by the heat the way I was on Friday. I felt good…really, really good. 🙂 Was it really not that warm? Was it because I drank 1.5 Liters of water before class? (this is always tricky, because I don’t want to have to pee in the middle of class) Was it because I got a good night of sleep last night, and the previous night? I don’t know, really. It was definitely very warm…I was dripping with sweat. So, it must have been all the water I drank. Or because I was rested. Or a combination of both.

It was a packed class, and I had a stinky person in close proximity. This person was a mixture of stinky: BO, stale cigarettes, and alcohol. I didn’t let this affect my class, however. I didn’t need to rest once, and I didn’t feel light headed at all! I breezed through class and was even able to do both sets of Triangle Pose (it’s still the most difficult for me).

After class, in the dressing room, another person spoke to me! She said, “Do you use Latisse?” I wracked my brain, trying to figure out what the heck she was talking about! I figured it out in seconds, and was able to respond to her. ( http://www.latisse.com/ Latisse is a product, which supposedly makes your eyelashes grow longer and thicker.) My response was, “No. I have eyelash extensions.” She said, “Wow. They look amazing…so natural! I had to say something so you didn’t think I was weird for staring at you during class!” Ha! “Thank you, I said.” And then we chit chatted about my extensions for a little bit. It’s funny, the past few days I have been looking in the mirror thinking I really, really need to get them touched up; they are looking pretty sparse, but I just haven’t had the time. I typically get the most compliments, however, when my lashes are, in my eyes, looking a little ratty. It’s probably because they do look more natural at this point.

I am glad tonight’s class was so good. I get frustrated when I have a “bad” class, but as I said before, and I will continue to say: each class is so different, and that’s what makes me keep wanting to come back…I will never know what class will be like.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 3, 2010 in Yoga

 

Leave a Reply

 
