RSS

My imperfect calling.

11 Feb

I just ran 4.2 miles in the rain. Man, it was a struggle getting out the door, even though I had already ventured out in the rain with my dog, Pablo.  I tried to talk myself out of it, but I just couldn’t do it. I am glad I went. Heck, after we do something we know is good for us, but is not on our list of things we necessarily WANT to do, we’re always glad we did it, right? Have you ever had a really good workout and told yourself after, “Damn! WHY did I work out! I feel like crap now. I wish I wouldn’t have done that. What a waste of my time. UGH!” If you have, please share, because you are crazy.

I am going climbing later, and I am looking forward to that. My lower body feels like it’s been blasted the past few days, so my upper body would like some attention, too.

And yoga? None today, thank you. I need a day off from it, but I will be back strong tomorrow since I won’t run tomorrow.

I was doing some research yesterday on the benefits of Bikram Yoga, and I came across this site:  http://bikramyoga.com/Testimonials.htm It speaks of the five aspects of mind: Faith, Self Control, Determination, Concentration, and Patience. Each of these develop while practicing Bikram Yoga (I can attest to that, for SURE). I recommend visiting the site, and scrolling to the bottom to read, in detail, the five aspects of mind. There is a quote, however, that I would like to share, which I can totally relate to right now:

“It is better to follow your own calling imperfectly than follow another’s perfectly. If death should come while following your own path, this is surely better than living with the fear and anguish of following a false path. When we’re forced to do something that is against our own nature, our soul is unhappy, there is no peace. When the soul is unhappy, pain begins to trouble the body as well. Rather than change your ways to conform with the world, you must eventually find a way to express your truth from your heart regardless of the world.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 11, 2010 in Climbing, Running, Skiing

 

Leave a Reply

 
