RSS

Day 7-Class 5

28 Jan

Half way there! I went to the 6:30PM class. Tonight was a great class for beginners, especially if you are a guy, for these reasons: 1. Erika was teaching (Yup, she is still my favorite. She is sweet. Cute. Gentle on the newbies. She has a soothing voice) 2. The room seemed less hot. Maybe I am getting used to the heat? Or maybe it is because Erika left a fan on? 3. There were men. Lots of men. More men than in any other class I have been to. Old hairy men wearing speedos. Middle aged men there with their wives. Young men (boys) who could have been out drinking with their buddies, but went to yoga instead. Good job. So, if you’re a guy, and you were going to go to your first class tonight, and you didn’t…you really missed out. I am not going to name any names. 😉

Ok. On to the poses.

I had a really hard time with Awkward Pose:

Maybe it had something to do with my hard day skiing and my running this week. My quads were squealing. Ouch.

Fixed Firm Pose was hard…again.

I think it will be for a while. My knees don’t like it. I couldn’t lie back at all. All I can do is sit there with my butt barely on the floor. Come on, knees, loosen up, please!

I kicked butt at Camel Pose, again:

It is my favorite pose right now. It feels so good to stretch my back out.When my head was back, I looked around the room, and saw the majority of the class in the beginner version of the pose…how you start the pose:

Am I doing it wrong? Why is it pretty easy for me to go all the way back? My gymnastics background maybe?

So, since Camel Pose is my favorite right now, I decided to read in depth the benefits of the pose. Here you go:

Camel Pose

Ustransana

The deepest backbend in the Bikram series, all postures performed up until now prepare the body for Camel pose. This posture compresses the spine and flushes out old fluids and blood, allowing for new, oxygen-rich replacement fluids to lubricate and nourish the spine.

Benefits:
  • Stretches abdominal organs
  • Cures constipation
  • Stretches
    • Throat
    • Thyroid gland
    • Parathyroid gland
  • Opens ribcage to increase lung capacity
  • Improves flexibility
    • Neck
    • Spine
  • Relives backache
  • Firms and slims
    • Abdomen
    • Waistline                                                 I like this. 🙂
 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2010 in Yoga

 

4 responses to “Day 7-Class 5

  1. Annie

    January 29, 2010 at 11:12 am

    You are so silly 🙂 Love the humor in your writing, and the pictures and emoticons are great.!

     
  2. Dawn

    January 29, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    My favorites were Eagle Pose (which by the way is supposed to increase fertility), Standing Bow, and Tree Pose to Toe Stand. Reading your blog makes me wish I could be there with you!! 😦

     
  3. Julie G

    January 30, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Dawn, I will work on my eagle pose. 😉 I actually like it and am pretty decent at it. I can get my leg wrapped all the way around so I can see my foot. Standing Bow is okay for me, but tree pose is challenging, well…I can’t make it to toe stand. My knees won’t let me…yet. :0

     
  4. Julie G

    January 30, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    Thanks, Annie! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
