RSS

Day 3-Class 3

25 Jan

I was SORE when I woke up this morning. I woke up a lot last night because every time I changed positions in my sleep, my body ached. It is a good ache, like I ran a marathon, while playing tennis, lifting weights, doing 800 crunches, and skiing. Yup, a whole body soreness. I am sore in places I have never been sore before. Every ab muscle is sore. And I didn’t have to do hundreds of crunches…pretty amazing. 🙂 Upon awakening, I knew I was too sore to go skiing. The only thing I wanted to do was go to yoga! I had missed the 8AM class, and was too lazy to get to the 10AM class, so I counted down the minutes until I could go at 5PM. I was antsy all day. So, I did Bikram Yoga research. I read testimonials. I read what newbies should do: Go every day, especially in the beginning. The harder it is, the more your body needs it. The more sore you are, the more your body needs it. I obviously REALLY needed it!

Time for class!

It was packed! There was hardly any where to put my mat! I managed to squeeze myself in between two women, as I thought to myself, “Please do not be stinky.”

New instructor tonight, Michelle. I was hoping for Erika, but what I also read as I was eagerly awaiting class’s arrival, is it’s better to experience different instructors and their different teaching styles, it will aid in your improvement. So, I will try her out. 😉

I felt nearly like a veteran today! Well, not quite, but I didn’t have to rest ONCE!!! I did have to fill up my water bottle, but I don’t consider that a rest. I didn’t have to lie down. Yup, I felt really good today. My sore muscles hardly bothered me. My hamstrings made some of the poses a little more difficult, but I am already noticing some improvement! (Pat on back)

I have decided I don’t really like Half Moon Pose with Hands to Feet Pose. 

It’s the first pose after the initial breathing exercise. It hurt the first day. It hurt yesterday, and it hurt today. It makes my shoulders burn. I guess I need it.

Where I kicked butt today (at least in my opinion):

Standing Head to Knee Pose. This is the beginner version:

Advanced version:

The first two classes, I could only do the beginner version. My standing leg was too wobbly for me to kick out my other leg at all. Today, I was able to kick it out! On both sides, and hold it for the majority of the time. I didn’t kick it all the way out, and it wasn’t straight, but it was a definite improvement. Yay, me.

I also kicked butt at Balancing StickPose:

I was able to hold the pose…on both sides…both sets…for the entire time!! And not a lot of people in class were able to do this! (Yes, I am bragging. It makes me feel good) I think my gymnastics and ballet background helped. 25+ years ago, but a background, nonetheless.

I made it through class number 3! Michelle was good, but I still like Erika better. I should probably try some more instructors out, just so I can claim Erika as my favorite, and be her groupie.  I came better prepared today. I brought clothes to change into, so the walk to the car, in the rain, is more bearable. Oooh, boy though. Stinky people in the locker room. Stinky women right next to me. Oh well, I guess it’s too be expected. There was a lot of sweating going on. Am I stinky??

Unfortunately, I have to take tomorrow off, but I will definitely be posting something about how my body feels.

Off to the shower I go!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 25, 2010 in Yoga

 

One response to “Day 3-Class 3

  1. Dawn

    January 29, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Oh, man! Balancing stick was a hard one for me! I almost always felt like I was going to pass out on that one!

     

Leave a Reply

 
