RSS

Challenge: Hot Yoga-Day one

23 Jan

I am a runner. I don’t stretch. I am tall. I have horrible posture. I am a stress case. I am tense. I NEED yoga. I got a coupon in the mail before the Holidays: Bikram Yoga, $20 for 10 visits for new customers. Must use the 10 visits in 14 days. YIPPPEEE! I was pretty excited. I decided to start after the New Year. This is a blog about my 10 visits in 14 days. I am committed to the 10 days now.

Day one 6:30PM: Man, that room is HOT! I was sweating before class even started.  I felt light headed about 15 minutes into class, and the instructor (Erika) told us if we felt light headed and needed to take a break, that we should lie down on our mat. I was the first one in the class to do this. I was a little embarrassed, and I was wondering if I was going to make it through the entire hour and a half! I thought I was in shape! I don’t think it has anything to do with my not being in shape. I wasn’t used to the heat, and I realized I had NOT drank enough water throughout the day. Made note, “Drink more water!” That means even more bathroom trips…ugh. Well, I got up from my little break, and still felt a little lightheaded…I drank more water, and continued with the poses. I was SWEATING!!! Every inch of my body was dripping with sweat. It felt really, really good. I started to feel a little better as the class went on, and I noticed there were other people who had to lie down, too. YAY! I even got a, “Beautiful, Julie!” from Erika for my bow pose: 🙂

Some poses were a lot more difficult than others. Because I am a runner, with horrible posture, my hips, knees and lower back were my “problem areas.” I actually felt really good toward the end of class, and I made it! I can’t wait to go back tomorrow at 10AM.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 23, 2010 in Yoga

 

One response to “Challenge: Hot Yoga-Day one

  1. Maiden Merica

    January 16, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    Wow! It’s amazing how similar our first Yoga experiences were.

     

Leave a Reply

 
